West Bengal elections Over 78 voter turnout in 5th phase
We Care...!!!

NEW DELHI: Polling for the fifth section of the tightly-contested West Bengal meeting elections ended on Saturday night with a voter turnout of 78.36%.
Voting befell in 15,789 polling stations which was held throughout 45 meeting constituencies.
A complete of 319 candidates, together with 38 girls, contested on this section.
The polling was held in six districts – Jalpaiguri, Kalimpong, Darjeeling, Nadia, North 24 Parganas and Purba Bardhaman.
Jalpaiguri recorded the best turnout with 81.71 %, whereas Purba Bardhaman and Nadia registered 81.67% and 81.50%.
Among the 45 constituencies, Maynaguri reported the best turnout of voters at 85.65% whereas the Matigara-Naxalbari constituency recorded 81.65% and Barasat recorded 77.71%. Bidhanagar noticed 61.10% of voters and Siliguri 74.83% turnout.
Sporadic violence
Polling was largely peaceable within the fifth section of polling however a couple of incidents of violence had been reported in some areas .
In the Shantinagar space of Bidhanagar, a conflict broke out between TMC and BJP supporters with either side accusing one another of stopping the voters from going to the polling cubicles.
Bricks and stones had been hurled which injured at the very least eight folks. An enormous contingent of the central drive was rushed to the spot to regulate the state of affairs.

In Siliguri, a scuffle broke out between TMC and CPI (M) supporters outdoors a polling sales space.
In Santipur within the Nadia district, the TMC alleged that personnel of the central forces had been asking voters to return, a cost rubbished by the authorities.
In Bijpur in North 24 Parganas, TMC and BJP supporters clashed after the opposition celebration alleged that voters had been being prevented from going to the cubicles.
Locals within the Deganga constituency alleged that the central forces opened hearth within the space and chased away folks from a polling sales space, though nobody was injured. They additionally claimed that the forces vandalised polling sales space quantity 81 in Kumarpur within the Deganga constituency.
The convoy of BJP candidate from Kamarhati, Raju Banerjee, was additionally allegedly attacked.
Earlier within the fourth section of poling 4 folks had been killed in Cooch Behar as central forces opened hearth on account of alleged assault from locals.
TMC vs BJP over Mamata‘s ‘audio tape’ on Sitalkuchi firing
A contemporary controversy erupted in West Bengal after the BJP but once more launched a purported audio clip of chief minister Mamata Banerjee, this time on final week’s firing incident in Cooch Behar through which 4 folks had been killed.
A BJP delegation met the Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) in Kolkata requesting the Election Commission to represent a Special Investigation Team (SIT) for probing the purported audiotape of Banerjee, through which she may be heard telling the TMC candidate from the Sitalkuchi constituency to carry protests with our bodies of the 4 killed in Cooch Behar violence.
TMC mentioned it was “illegal and unlawful recording” and blamed the BJP’s “dirty tricks department” for the audio tape.
A TMC delegation referred to as on the Commission to take obligatory motion.
The voting for the sixth of the eight section election within the state will likely be held on April 22. The counting of votes will happen on May 2.
(With company inputs)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »